A Creative Minds Montessori classroom in Frisco, Texas
TL;DR

A large chain center in east Frisco and a small independent Montessori in West Frisco, about fifteen to twenty minutes apart, with different methods and different owners. Koti Academy of Frisco, at 7400 Kings Ridge Road, is now Frisco KinderCare: its former website says "Koti Academy is now part of KinderCare Learning Companies!", and the Texas HHS record for the address is in the KinderCare name, with a Full Permit dated May 31, 2024, a licensed capacity of 325, hours from 6:30 AM to 6:00 PM, six weeks to twelve years, meals, transportation to and from school, before- and after-school care, KinderCare's research-based curriculum, dietitian-designed menus, a parent app, and a 5.0-star Google rating across 211 reviews on the listing that still carries the Koti name. Creative Minds Montessori is six weeks through kindergarten entry, certified Montessori guides, mixed-age classrooms with a Waldorf-inspired arts and music thread, organic milk and vegetables with no added sugar, no screens under two, cameras you can watch all day, infant teachers who have been here since the school opened, and a Full Permit at the same address since 2016. The state records are different lengths: Frisco KinderCare's begins with the 2024 permit and shows 10 deficiencies across 2,942 standards, three of them high-risk, zero injuries and zero penalties; Creative Minds' covers five years and shows 26 across 3,942, seven high-risk, zero injuries and zero penalties. If you want a 6:30 open, a bus, care to age twelve and a national chain's curriculum, that is what Kings Ridge Road offers. If you want Montessori in a small school with a decade of the same faces and policies you can read before you visit, that is what we are.

Who is writing this, and how we tried to be fair. This guide is written by the teachers at Creative Minds Montessori, so we are one of the two schools being compared. We have kept to what each school publishes on its own website (checked September 22, 2026), the Texas Health and Human Services licensing records for both (read the same day), and public Google reviews. Koti Academy of Frisco has changed name and owner, and its state record is under the new name, so we say plainly at each step which name and which period a fact belongs to. Where the center does something we do not, we say so. State-record facts are quoted from the record itself, and our own record gets the same treatment. The classroom photographs on this page are of our own rooms. Verify anything that matters to you on a tour — at either school.

A school that changed hands, and a school that has not

Koti Academy of Frisco is at 7400 Kings Ridge Road, Frisco, TX 75035, in east Frisco. Its website, kotiacademy.com, now opens with the line "Koti Academy is now part of KinderCare Learning Companies!" and lists the Frisco location as "Frisco KinderCare" at the same address and phone, alongside five other former Koti centers in Gilmer, Grand Prairie, Howe, New Boston and Spring that carry the KinderCare name too. The Texas HHS record for the building is under the name "Frisco KinderCare," Operation No. 1795029, with a Full Permit dated May 31, 2024; its compliance history begins there, so any earlier operation under the Koti name is a separate state record and is not part of what we compare below. The Google listing, on the other hand, still says "Koti Academy of Frisco," and most of its 211 reviews were written before the KinderCare years. Creative Minds Montessori is at 5115 Warren Parkway, behind Dua Trattoria at Legacy Drive and Warren Parkway, in West Frisco 75034. The two are about fifteen to twenty minutes apart across town.

The two schools do not share a method, and neither pretends to. Creative Minds is Montessori with a Waldorf-inspired arts thread; our Curriculum page lays out what that means room by room. KinderCare's page for Kings Ridge Road describes a "research-based curriculum with designated learning centers," which is the chain's standard approach, delivered in single-age rooms from infants to prekindergarten. So this comparison is "a Montessori school or a chain center," which is a different and perfectly good question from "which Montessori."

At a glance

 Koti Academy of Frisco (now Frisco KinderCare)Creative Minds Montessori
Address7400 Kings Ridge Rd, Frisco, TX 75035-29695115 Warren Parkway, Frisco, TX 75034-6289 (behind Dua Trattoria, Legacy Dr & Warren Pkwy)
Phone(972) 712-2900(972) 338-4304
Websitekotiacademy.com, which now points to KinderCare; the center page is on kindercare.comcreativemindsmontessori.com
Ownership and age"Koti Academy is now part of KinderCare Learning Companies!" (kotiacademy.com); the state record is in the name Frisco KinderCare with a Full Permit since May 31, 2024Single independent school, open more than ten years at this location; Full Permit since April 21, 2016
LeadershipSarah Porter, center director on the KinderCare page and on the Texas HHS recordDinna Bacordo, Director; meet the team on our Our Team page
Hours6:30 AM – 6:00 PM, Mon–Fri (website and state record)7:00 AM – 5:30 PM, Mon–Fri (up to 10 hours of care; arrive by 9:00 AM)
Ages served6 weeks to 12 years: Infant (6 weeks–1), Toddler (1–2), Discovery Preschool (2–3), Preschool (3–4), Prekindergarten (4–5), before- and after-school care, school-break programs6 weeks through kindergarten entry (Pre-K II / Transitional Kindergarten)
Texas state licenseLicensed Center – Child Care Program, Full Permit, no conditions; Texas HHS Operation No. 1795029 (listed as "Frisco KinderCare"), Collin County; accepts child-care subsidies; no corrective or adverse actionLicensed Center – Child Care Program, Full Permit, no conditions; Texas HHS Operation No. 1597616 (listed as "Creative Minds"), Denton County; no corrective or adverse action
Accreditation / quality ratingKinderCare says its centers are state-licensed and "most are accredited, too"; the page does not say whether this one isTexas Rising Star participation (state record)
Licensed capacity325 children (state record)226 children (state record); classrooms kept small by design
Services on the state recordSchool-age care, before- and after-school care, meals and snacks provided, skill classes, part-time care, transportation to and from school, field tripsFull-day programs, part-time care, skill classes, field trips with parent volunteers, meals and snacks provided; no transportation
Educational approachKinderCare's "research-based curriculum with designated learning centers"; not MontessoriMontessori: prepared environment, self-chosen work, mixed-age rooms, five areas (practical life, sensorial, language, math, cultural) with a Waldorf-inspired arts, music, and nature thread
EnrichmentCooking Academy (3–12), Music Explorers (2–4), Phonics Adventures (2–4), STEM Innovators (3–8) (KinderCare page; whether they carry a fee is not stated)Weekly music class, daily process art, physical-training time; all included
Meals"Nutritious meals and snacks developed by a registered dietitian" (KinderCare page); meals and snacks on the state recordBreakfast, lunch, and two snacks; lunch catered by KidzCaters on a four-week rotation; organic milk and organic vegetables, no added raw sugar, vegetarian option daily; nut-free
Classroom camerasNot addressed on the KinderCare pageSecure login to your child's room throughout the day; grandparents can get their own login; $25 per child per month
ScreensNot addressedNo screen time under age two; at most one supplemental, education-aligned hour for older children, never at meals or rest
Beyond preschoolBefore- and after-school care and school-break programs to age twelve; transportation to and from school on the state recordNot offered; the program ends at kindergarten entry
CommunicationKinderCare mobile app for messaging and progress updatesDaily email with meals, naps, activities, and photos; parent-teacher conferences each November/December
Tuition transparencyRates not published; accepts state and local subsidies, military support and employer benefits; part-time scheduling; sibling discounts (KinderCare page)Rates from the Director; $150 registration, $150 supply fee twice a year, $25 monthly camera fee, 10% sibling discount on the older sibling
Google rating5.0 stars (211 reviews) on the listing under the Koti Academy of Frisco name, mostly predating the KinderCare transition4.7 stars (44 reviews) — see our Testimonials page

Sources: kotiacademy.com, the KinderCare center page for 7400 Kings Ridge Rd, Creative Minds' website, and both Texas HHS records, September 22, 2026; Google ratings and review counts as of the same date. Details change, and this center is changing faster than most — confirm on your tour.

What kind of school each one is

Koti Academy of Frisco: a local center that became a KinderCare

What Koti Academy of Frisco was is now mostly visible in third-party listings and in the memories of the 211 families who reviewed it, and we have not relied on the former. What its own website says today is short: the company "is now part of KinderCare Learning Companies," there are "exciting updates" to come, the Frisco center is "Frisco KinderCare" at 7400 Kings Ridge Road, and the pitch is "safe, nurturing care" backed by "the most accredited child care provider in the country." KinderCare's center page fills in the rest: a center director by name, hours of 6:30 to 6:00, five age bands from six weeks to prekindergarten plus before- and after-school and school-break care, the chain's research-based curriculum organised around learning centers, meals and snacks designed by a registered dietitian, a parent app for messages and progress updates, and four enrichment programs in cooking, music, phonics and STEM. It says the chain accepts subsidies, military and employer benefits, offers part-time schedules and sibling discounts, and that its centers are state-licensed and "most are accredited, too," without saying whether this one is.

The state record adds the practical shape of the place. The operation is licensed for 325 children, one of the largest capacities in our series; it provides meals and snacks; it runs transportation to and from school, which the November 2024 inspection confirms in passing when it describes "three vans being used to transport children"; it accepts child-care subsidies; and its director on the record is the same person the KinderCare page names. The Full Permit in the KinderCare name is dated May 31, 2024, and the state's first inspection under it, on May 21, 2024, evaluated 1,251 standards and found nothing wrong. That date matters for reading everything else about the school: the reviews on Google are mostly older than the permit, and the state record is entirely newer.

Two things a parent should know going in. First, the websites are quiet on cameras, screens, rest, toileting and discipline, and rates are not published; those are tour questions. Second, the state counts 9 staff departures in 2024 and 16 in 2025 at this center, which for a 325-place operation is not unusual but is worth asking about room by room, because a change of owner is exactly when the adults who earned a 5.0 rating may or may not still be in the building.

Toddlers at Creative Minds Montessori counting beads on an abacus
Creative Minds Montessori: math begins with things you can hold. Concrete before abstract is the whole Montessori arc.

Creative Minds Montessori: one school, one philosophy, ten-plus years of the same faces

Creative Minds is a single independent school in the Legacy and Warren corridor that serves children from six weeks through kindergarten entry and then hands them on to Frisco ISD or a private elementary. Everything about it is built around the Montessori method. Walk in mid-morning and the first thing you notice is the quiet hum of concentration: one child building the pink tower, another tracing sandpaper letters, a third carrying a tray of golden beads to a mat. The guide is not at the front of the room; she is kneeling next to one child, presenting one lesson, and the rest of the room is working on things they chose. Rooms are mixed-age on purpose, so a three-year-old watches a five-year-old read and a five-year-old learns patience by helping a three-year-old pour.

Layered over that structure is what the school calls the Waldorf touch: a weekly music class, process art with natural materials, rhythm and storytelling, and a deliberate reverence for beauty and nature in the rooms. Montessori builds the disciplined, capable mind; the artistic thread keeps the imagination glowing. Our Curriculum page lays out the five Montessori areas and what each looks like at each age.

The people are the second thing. Both infant teachers have been with the school since it opened its doors more than ten years ago, which in an industry where caregivers often change every few months means the same two warm faces greet families at drop-off year after year. Ratios meet or exceed Texas licensing for every age, with the youngest rooms kept smallest, and because the school is small, the Director personally approves every move from one room to the next.

The third thing is a set of daily-life choices that are easy to verify. Food is treated as curriculum: organic milk and organic vegetables, no added raw sugar, minimal salt and fat, a vegetarian option every day, fresh fruit and milk with every lunch, and a nut-free building. Children under two have no screen time at all, and older children never more than one supplemental, education-aligned hour, never at meals or rest. Every classroom has a camera, and parents can log in and watch any time during the day. Our Our School page covers the rest.

Curriculum and daily life, compared

This is the one table in our series where the two columns describe genuinely different ideas about how a young child learns, so the contrasts are sharper than in our Montessori-to-Montessori comparisons.

DimensionKoti Academy of Frisco (now Frisco KinderCare)Creative Minds Montessori
Who directs the learningA teacher-planned, research-based curriculum delivered through "designated learning centers"Montessori: child-chosen work from a prepared environment; the guide presents individual lessons and observes
Materials and areasLearning centers by theme; specifics not published for this centerThe Montessori materials (pink tower, sandpaper letters, movable alphabet, golden beads, number rods) across the five areas, plus a Waldorf-inspired arts and music thread
Age groupingSingle-age bands: infant, toddler, 2–3, 3–4, 4–5Mixed-age Montessori rooms (e.g., Casa 3–6); older children mentor younger
Teacher credentialsNot stated for this center; Texas licensing minimums applyCertified Montessori guides; the infant leads have been here since opening
Starting age6 weeks6 weeks
InfantsInfant room for 6 weeks to 1 year; routines not described; the state record shows a January 2026 self-reported bottle mix-up (below)Nido: individual schedules, safe-sleep standards, daily email with meals, naps, activities and photos; the state record shows two infant-sleep findings in June 2023 (below)
Languages and enrichmentCooking, music, phonics and STEM classes by age bandWeekly music class, daily process art, physical-training time, arts, music, language, and movement
TechnologyNot addressedNone under two; capped at one supplemental hour for older children
Kindergarten and beyondPrekindergarten to age 5; before- and after-school care and school-break programs to age 12; transportation to and from schoolPre-K II / Transitional Kindergarten aligned with Frisco ISD; the program ends at kindergarten entry
RestNot addressed on the center pageSupervised rest after lunch for children 12 months and up (about two hours); at least an hour of rest, sleep never required, quiet work for non-nappers
Potty trainingNot addressedCentral focus of the Transition class from about 2½; no punishment tied to toileting, ever
DisciplineNot addressedPositive guidance only; calm-down break capped at one minute per year of age; no punishment tied to food, naps, or toileting; no send-home policy for tantrums
Assessment and communicationKinderCare app for messaging and progress updatesObservation records; daily email; conferences each November/December; all-day cameras

The honest summary is that Kings Ridge Road now offers what a large chain offers: an early open, a bus, care to twelve through school breaks, a dietitian's menu, an app, subsidies and employer benefits, and a curriculum that is the same in every KinderCare in the country. We offer what a small Montessori offers: a method, a small building, the same adults for years, food and screen policies you can see on the plate, and a camera you can watch from your desk. Which of those is better depends entirely on what you want your child's day to be, and our guide to early childhood methodologies is the place to think that through.

Young children playing instruments in the weekly music class at Creative Minds Montessori
The weekly music class at Creative Minds: from birth to six is the most important window for musical development, so it is woven into the week, not bolted on.

Food, hours, and the shape of a day

Hours. Frisco KinderCare wins this one clearly: 6:30 AM to 6:00 PM on both its website and its state record is an hour more coverage than Creative Minds' 7:00 to 5:30, half of it at each end of the day. Creative Minds' full-day programs cap at ten hours of care, and the school asks for a 9:00 arrival so children get the uninterrupted work period that Montessori depends on.

Food. Both feed the children. KinderCare's page promises "nutritious meals and snacks developed by a registered dietitian," and meals and snacks are on the state record; the menu itself is not published for this center. Creative Minds does not cook on site; lunch is catered by KidzCaters on a four-week rotation, and the choices are in the sourcing: organic milk and organic vegetables, no added raw sugar, minimal salt and fat, a vegetarian option every day, fresh fruit and milk with every lunch, and a nut-free building. A dietitian's menu versus organic sourcing is an honest trade-off; ours is on our Nutrition page, and the state record gives you a specific question for Kings Ridge Road: the April 2026 inspection found that "two children with diagnosed food allergies that require an Epi-pen did not have the Food Allergy Emergency Plan on file," corrected by May 1, so ask how allergy plans are kept now.

Flexibility and transportation. Frisco KinderCare's state record lists part-time care, before- and after-school care, field trips and transportation to and from school, and the website adds school-break programs. Creative Minds is a full-day preschool with no transportation. We do offer ways to protect a spot during extended breaks and two $50-per-year vacation credits, but if you need a van from a Frisco ISD elementary, a part-week schedule, or a place for a nine-year-old in July, Kings Ridge Road is the one to ask.

Safety, security, and seeing your child's day

Creative Minds publishes its security, camera, illness and safe-sleep practices; KinderCare's page for this center does not, so most of the left-hand column is a list of questions for the tour, with the state record's findings noted where they are relevant.

 Koti Academy of Frisco (now Frisco KinderCare)Creative Minds Montessori
Getting in the doorNot detailed on the center pageDoors locked at all times; personal key fob per family; visitors ring the bell
Check-in / pick-upNot detailed on the center pageFingerprint sign-in kiosk that records date, time, and a photo; photo ID for anyone unfamiliar; release only to authorized adults
Cameras in roomsNot addressedVideo cameras in every classroom; secure family login throughout the day; grandparent logins available, $25 per child per month
Daily communicationKinderCare mobile appDaily email with meals, naps, activities, and photos; parent-teacher conferences each November/December
StaffTexas licensing background checks apply; the state record shows two background-check findings, May and November 2025 (below); 9 and 16 departures in 2024 and 2025Certified Montessori guides; positive-guidance discipline policy; volunteers require an 8-hour pre-certification and criminal-history check; 5 and 7 departures in 2025 and 2024
TransportationVans to and from school; a November 2024 finding that three rental vans lacked fire extinguishers was "corrected during the inspection"None
Fire and building safetyApril 2026: monthly fire drills "not conducted as required" and no drill documentation, corrected by May 1; November 2024: "a large hole in the classroom wall" in the library area, repaired by December 4No fire-safety findings in five years; two holes in a classroom wall cited April 2026, repaired and verified May 12, 2026
Illness and medicationApril 2026: "one child had an expired Epi-pen," returned to the parentsFever 100.4°F+ stays home until fever-free 24 hours unmedicated; vomiting/diarrhea 24 symptom-free hours; group notified of communicable illness
Infant safe sleep and feedingNo sleep findings on the record; a January 2026 self-reported bottle mix-up (below)Texas licensing, AAP and CPSC standards: on the back, own CPSC-compliant crib, firm mattress, tight sheet; see the June 2023 findings below
Visibility insideTours through the centerParents may visit in person any time during operating hours, no appointment

What the state's records show, side by side

The Texas Health and Human Services Commission publishes every licensed center's five-year compliance history in its public Child Care Search. We read both pages on September 22, 2026 and put them in one table. Two cautions on like-for-like. First, the record for 7400 Kings Ridge Road is in the name "Frisco KinderCare," not "Koti Academy of Frisco"; there is no operation under the Koti name in the state's open-data listing as of that date, and any earlier Koti-named operation would be a separate record that we have not pulled or attributed. Second, that record begins with the May 31, 2024 permit, so it covers a little over two years against our five. Read ours as critically as theirs; the links go to the primary source.

State recordFrisco KinderCare, 7400 Kings Ridge Rd (state page)Creative Minds Montessori (state page)
PermitFull Permit since May 31, 2024; no conditions; history begins at this permitFull Permit since April 21, 2016; no conditions
Serious injuries / injuries from standard violations0 / 00 / 0
Employees who left employment, by year2025: 16 · 2024: 9 (no earlier years on the record)2025: 5 · 2024: 7 · 2023: 15 · 2022: 18 · 2021: 14 · 2020: 22
Activity in the window13 inspections · 0 assessments · 1 self-reported incident · 3 reports (complaint or investigation)14 inspections · 3 self-reported incidents (filed by us) · 4 reports
Deficiencies found / standards evaluated10 / 2,942 (3 high, 4 medium-high, 3 medium)26 / 3,942 (7 high, 12 medium-high, 6 medium, 1 medium-low, 0 low)
Deficiencies by year2024: 2 · 2025: 3 · 2026 to date: 52021: 1 · 2022: 4 · 2023: 9 · 2024: 0 · 2025: 5 · 2026 to date: 7
Full inspectionsMay 21, 2024: 1,251 of 1,251 compliant. November 15, 2024: 603 of 605 (2). May 23, 2025: 671 of 673 (2). April 20, 2026: 392 of 396 (4). Two complaint investigations in June and July 2026 evaluated 7 standards and found no deficiencies; latest visit September 17, 2026, 1 of 1May 12, 2026: 657 of 660 compliant; 3 deficiencies. Latest visit July 21, 2026: 1 of 1, none
Administrative penalties00
Corrective or adverse actionNo / NoNo / No
Licensed capacity325226

What Frisco KinderCare's ten deficiencies were, in full, in the state's words where they matter.

  • Background checks (2 high-risk items, 2025). On May 23, 2025, "a caregiver who was present during the inspection had recently transfered from another child care operation within the same company. A background check had not been submitted for this operation and was inactivated at the previous operation." The director submitted the request during the inspection and "the caregiver will not return to the operation until an eligibility determination is received." On November 13, 2025, a complaint investigation found that "an individual at the operation who is required to have a background check was arrested. The operation did not notify Child Care Regulation as required"; a follow-up on November 26 "verified that the individual was not present at the operation."
  • Transportation (1 high-risk item, 2024). On November 15, 2024, "three vans being used to transport children were observed to not have a fire extinguisher. These vans are rentals that are being used temporarily. This deficiency was corrected during the inspection by moving fire extinguishers that were located on buses that are no longer in use."
  • The bottle mix-up (1 medium-high item, self-reported, 2026). The center reported an incident to the state itself, and the January 7, 2026 investigation found that "a child's bottle was not labeled correctly and had not been properly observed when received. This error led to a child receiving the wrong bottle which contained breast milk." On a follow-up video call the director "demonstrated that all bottles were labeled correctly and that the bottle identification/feeding log was completed," verified March 6, 2026.
  • Fire drills and allergy plans (4 items, April 20, 2026). "The operation has not conducted the monthly fire drills as required" (medium-high) and "there is no documentation of the required drills" (medium), both placed in compliance by May 1 after the director provided documentation; "two children with diagnosed food allergies that require an Epi-pen did not have the Food Allergy Emergency Plan on file" (medium-high), corrected by May 1; and "one child had an expired Epi-pen" (medium), returned to the parents by April 24.
  • Building and paperwork (2 items). November 15, 2024: "a large hole in the classroom wall was observed" in the children's library area, "accessible to children creating a safety risk," repaired and verified December 4. May 23, 2025: of nine personnel files reviewed, "5 of the personnel files were missing required records," corrected by June 10.

That is a moderate record for a 325-place center in its first two years under a new name, and it deserves a fair reading. Nothing on it concerns supervision, discipline, ratios or a child being hurt, and the two complaint investigations this summer found nothing. The two background-check findings are the ones to ask about: the first is the kind of paperwork gap a chain transferring staff between centers can fall into, and the second, an arrest not reported to licensing, is the more serious of the two, though the state's follow-up confirmed the person was no longer present. The self-reported bottle mix-up is, in its way, reassuring: the center told the state itself. And the 9 and 16 departures deserve a room-by-room question, because a 5.0 rating earned under Koti tells you about adults who may or may not still work there.

Our own record is the one we want you to read hardest. Twenty-six deficiencies across 3,942 standards is more than Frisco KinderCare's, and most of them are paperwork we should have had in order and many of which we reported ourselves. Each finding was verified corrected by the state. The three self-reported incidents on our record are incidents we reported to the state ourselves, because we would rather have a mark on the page than a secret in the building. Zero injuries in five years and 5 and 7 staff departures in the last two years are the numbers we are proudest of. The details are on our state page linked above, and we would rather you read them there than take our summary.

A calm Creative Minds Montessori classroom with natural materials and soft colors
What "calm" looks like: low shelves, one of each material, soft colors, and children who chose the work in front of them.

Cost and fees: what each school publishes

Neither school prints monthly tuition on its website, which is normal in Frisco and frustrating for a shopping parent. Here is exactly what each does say, so you know what to ask.

Frisco KinderCare publishes the ways to pay rather than the price. The center page says it accepts state and local child-care subsidies (the state record agrees), military support and employer child-care benefits, offers part-time scheduling, and gives sibling discounts. Meals and snacks are included per the state record. Whether the cooking, music, phonics and STEM enrichment programs carry a fee is not stated. Rates by age come from the center at (972) 712-2900.

Creative Minds Montessori bills monthly by age. Published fees: a one-time $150 registration fee per child, a $150 supply fee each March 1 and September 1, and a $25-per-child monthly camera fee. Published credits: a 10% sibling discount on the older sibling, $150 off tuition for each referred family who stays 90 days, and a current new-family welcome credit. Meals, snacks, the music class and all materials are included. Monthly rates by age come from the Director, and we will give you a written all-in number on the tour. Details are on our Admissions page.

Two practical tips. First, ask both schools for a written, all-in annual number for your child's age, including every fee and every enrichment charge, so a rate that includes a bus and a 6:30 open can be compared with one that includes a camera and organic food. Second, ask what happens to your spot and your money during a two-week vacation, a maternity leave, or a job change; the answers differ more between schools than the headline rate does. Our guide to what childcare really costs covers FSAs, employer benefits and the child-care tax credit, which apply at both schools.

What parents say

Koti Academy of Frisco

Start with the number: the Google listing under the name Koti Academy of Frisco showed a 5.0-star rating across 211 reviews on September 22, 2026, the highest rating and the largest count of any school in our series. Then read the date on the state permit: most of those 211 reviews were written before the building became Frisco KinderCare, and the listing has not been renamed. A 5.0 over 211 reviews is a remarkable score and it tells you that, for years, families on Kings Ridge Road were very happy with the people and the program they found there. What it cannot yet tell you is what families think of the same building under KinderCare's curriculum, menu and staffing. Read the 211 on Google, sort by newest, and note which were written after May 2024.

We did not find a critical-review pattern for this school, and we are not going to invent one. Of 211 reviews as of September 22, 2026, the only negative review we read is a short, undated one that reads as written by a former student rather than a parent, saying they were "not treated fairly," "got in trouble for no reason," and were "afraid of the staff," with nothing a reader could check and no reply from the school. One review is not a pattern, and one uncheckable review is not evidence of anything. Individual reviews are unverified parent opinion in any case. What can be checked is the state record above, which shows no finding about how children were treated, and 9 and 16 departures in 2024 and 2025, which is the real question the 5.0 raises: how many of the adults those reviews praise are still in the building.

Creative Minds Montessori

Creative Minds Montessori holds a 4.7-star rating across 44 Google reviews. It is a smaller school, so the count is smaller; the score is what we are proud of, and so is the state's record of 5 and 7 staff departures in the last two years, because the reviews are mostly about people who are still here. The Google reviews quoted on our Testimonials page cluster around the infant teachers who have been here since the school opened, the calm of the classrooms, the food, the cameras, and children who come home and set the table without being asked. We are not going to pretend we have no critical reviews; read all 44 on Google and ask us about any of them on the tour. We would rather answer than spin.

One thing we say to every family who tours a chain center and then tours us: the building and the brand are the beginning of the comparison, not the end of it. Two rooms with the same furniture can feel completely different depending on who is in them and how long they have been there. Watch the adults.

Which school fits which family

Koti Academy of Frisco / Frisco KinderCare is probably the better fit if…

  • You need doors open at 6:30 AM and care to 6:00 PM, plus before- and after-school care with a van from a local school and school-break programs for an older child, all from one provider.
  • A national chain's consistency, app, dietitian-designed menu and accreditation programme matter more to you than a particular educational method.
  • You use a child-care subsidy, military support or an employer benefit, or you want part-time scheduling and a sibling discount.
  • You live or work in east Frisco near Kings Ridge Road, and a twenty-minute drive west is a deal-breaker.
  • You are comfortable joining a center in its first years under a new owner, and you will ask on the tour which of the staff behind the 5.0 rating are still there.

Creative Minds Montessori is probably the better fit if…

  • You want Montessori: self-chosen work, mixed-age rooms, one guide presenting one lesson, with a Waldorf-inspired arts and music thread.
  • You want your infant with the same two caregivers year after year in a small independent school with one owner for a decade.
  • You want to watch your child's room from your phone at any point in the day, for a published fee, and to walk in unannounced.
  • Organic milk and vegetables, no added sugar, and no screens under two matter to you as written policy.
  • You want a positive-guidance discipline policy, a rest policy and a toileting policy printed before you visit, so you can hold the school to them.
  • You want a five-year state record at one address that you can read in full, including the hard parts, before you decide.
  • You live or work in West Frisco and are fine with a 7:00–5:30 day, no bus, and changing schools at kindergarten.

And a third possibility that is more common than either school likes to admit: some children are simply happier in one room than another, and you will know within ten minutes of watching them in it. Bring your child to both tours if you possibly can.

Ten questions to ask on both tours

These are the questions that separate a good tour from a brochure read aloud. Ask every one of them at both schools, in the same words, and compare the answers side by side.

  1. "What is the exact ratio and group size in the room my child would start in, today?" Not the licensing maximum, the actual number this month.
  2. "Which of the teachers in my child's room were here two years ago?" At a center that has changed owners, this tells you whether you are buying the reviews or the future. At either school, tenure is the best predictor of how your child's day will feel.
  3. "What happens when a child says, 'I can't do it'?" The answer reveals the whole philosophy. We explain why in our guide to choosing a whole-child program.
  4. "Can I see my child's room during the day, and how?" Cameras, an app, a window, or an open door. Get the specifics and the cost.
  5. "What did the children eat yesterday, and how are bottles and allergy plans handled?" Then ask to see next week's menu. The state record gives Kings Ridge Road two specific things to answer here.
  6. "How much screen time will my child have, and what is it for?" Get a number, not an adjective.
  7. "What is my all-in annual cost for this age, including every fee and every enrichment charge, and what benefits or subsidies apply?" Then ask what happens to the spot if you withdraw mid-year.
  8. "How do you decide when a child moves to the next room, and what does the year before kindergarten look like?" Age, readiness, or space, and who decides.
  9. "What is on your state record, what changed because of it, and what did you report to the state last year?" Ask for a real example. Compare the answer with the school's state page; at Kings Ridge Road, ask about the 2025 background-check findings.
  10. "May I come back on a normal morning?" The answer, and the tone of the answer, tells you nearly everything.

For the longer version of this checklist, including the unannounced-visit test and the difference between settling-in tears and real red flags, see How to Choose a Daycare You Actually Trust.

A child watering plants in the garden at Creative Minds Montessori
Practical life at Creative Minds: real tools, real plants, real responsibility. The Waldorf-inspired reverence for nature shows up in small daily jobs.

The bottom line

Koti Academy of Frisco earned a 5.0-star rating from 211 families and is now Frisco KinderCare, licensed for 325 children with a chain's hours, curriculum, menu, van and app. Its state record under the KinderCare name, a little over two years long, shows ten deficiencies, none about supervision or discipline, two about background checks, one self-reported bottle mix-up, and a clean pair of complaint investigations this summer, alongside 9 and 16 staff departures. None of that is a review's opinion; all of it is on the state's page, and all of it is a reason to ask precise questions rather than a reason not to tour.

Creative Minds Montessori is a smaller, narrower, deeper offer: one philosophy carried out faithfully from six weeks to kindergarten by adults who have been here for years, with a Waldorf-inspired arts thread, printed policies on food, screens, rest, toileting and discipline, cameras you can watch all day, and a five-year state record with no injury, no penalty and no enforcement action, but with supervision and discipline findings we have set out above rather than hidden. It cannot open at 6:30, drive your child to school, or keep a nine-year-old in July.

Those are different products, and a family can be right to choose either. The wrong choice is the one made from a website, including this one. Tour both. Bring the questions above. Watch the children more than the adults, and then watch the adults. And if you would like to start with us, book a 40-minute weekday tour at Creative Minds, call (972) 338-4304, or email director@creativemindsfrisco.com. Frisco KinderCare, formerly Koti Academy of Frisco, can be reached at (972) 712-2900.

Quick answers

Is Koti Academy of Frisco still open?

The building at 7400 Kings Ridge Road is open as Frisco KinderCare. Koti's own website says "Koti Academy is now part of KinderCare Learning Companies!" and lists the Frisco location under the KinderCare name; the Texas HHS record for the address is in the name Frisco KinderCare with a Full Permit dated May 31, 2024.

Is Koti Academy of Frisco a licensed center?

The operation at 7400 Kings Ridge Rd is licensed as "Frisco KinderCare," a Licensed Center – Child Care Program with a Full Permit since May 31, 2024, no conditions, Operation No. 1795029, Collin County, licensed capacity 325, hours 6:30 AM to 6:00 PM, accepting child-care subsidies, with meals, transportation to and from school, before- and after-school care and field trips on the record. There is no operation under the name Koti Academy of Frisco in the state's open-data listing as of September 22, 2026.

Is Koti Academy Montessori?

No. KinderCare describes a research-based curriculum with learning centers in single-age rooms. Creative Minds is a Montessori school with certified guides, mixed-age rooms and the classic materials, with a Waldorf-inspired arts and music thread.

How far apart are the two schools?

About fifteen to twenty minutes. Kings Ridge Road is in east Frisco (75035); Creative Minds is at 5115 Warren Parkway in West Frisco (75034), behind Dua Trattoria at Legacy and Warren.

Which has longer hours?

Frisco KinderCare: 6:30 AM to 6:00 PM, six weeks to twelve years including before- and after-school care and transportation. Creative Minds: 7:00 AM to 5:30 PM, six weeks through kindergarten entry, no transportation.

What do the Texas licensing records show for each school?

Frisco KinderCare, since its May 2024 permit: 10 deficiencies across 2,942 standards (3 high: a background check not submitted for a transferred caregiver, an arrest not reported to licensing, and rental vans without fire extinguishers; plus fire-drill timing and documentation, an expired Epi-pen, missing food-allergy plans, a self-reported mislabeled bottle, a hole in a classroom wall, and personnel files), all verified corrected; 0 injuries, 0 penalties, no corrective or adverse action, 1 self-reported incident, and 9 and 16 staff departures in 2024 and 2025. Creative Minds shows 26 deficiencies across 3,942 standards, including three supervision findings (2022, 2023 and a self-reported one in June 2026), all verified corrected, plus 3 self-reported incidents, zero injuries in the same years.

Does either publish tuition?

No. KinderCare's page lists subsidies, military and employer benefits, part-time schedules and sibling discounts; rates come from the center. Creative Minds publishes its fees ($150 registration, $150 supply fee twice a year, $25 monthly camera fee) and credits (10% sibling discount, $150 referral); monthly rates come from the Director.

What do Google reviews say about Koti Academy of Frisco?

The listing under the Koti name shows a 5.0-star rating across 211 reviews as of September 22, 2026, mostly written before the KinderCare transition. We did not find a critical-review pattern; the one negative review we read is short, undated and uncheckable. Read the reviews on Google, sort by newest, and note which postdate May 2024.

Do both have parent cameras?

Creative Minds has cameras in every classroom with all-day secure viewing for $25 per child per month and grandparent logins. KinderCare's page for this center does not mention cameras; it offers a mobile app for messages and updates. Ask on the tour.

Keep reading

About this comparison: written by the teachers of Creative Minds Montessori, Frisco, TX, in September 2026. Facts about Koti Academy of Frisco come from its website, kotiacademy.com, and from the KinderCare center page for 7400 Kings Ridge Road (both read September 22, 2026), from the Texas HHS Child Care Search record for the operation at that address, which is in the name Frisco KinderCare (permit, capacity, programs, hours, administrator, and the full inspection and compliance history since the May 2024 permit, read the same day), and from the Google listing under the Koti name as of the same date; the center has changed ownership and name, and everything here may change quickly. Facts about Creative Minds come from our own website and our Texas HHS record. Quotations from the state record are reproduced as posted; individual reviews are the opinions of their authors and are unverified, and the state's findings are the state's, not ours. If you are the owner or director of Frisco KinderCare and find an error, or want to add context to anything here, email director@creativemindsfrisco.com and we will correct or add it promptly and note the change. Nothing here is a substitute for your own tour of both schools. Our legal disclaimer applies.

← Back to Parent Resources