A Creative Minds Montessori classroom in Frisco, Texas
TL;DR

Two independent Montessori schools on the same road, about ten minutes apart, both owner-run, both serving babies through kindergarten. Legacy Montessori Academy, on Legacy Drive north of Main Street, is the older and wider one: a Full Permit since 2013, licensed for 183 children from infants through school-age, hours of 7:00 AM to 6:00 PM, an after-school program for elementary children with transportation to and from school, a summer session with karate and sports, and a curriculum page that adds yoga, fine arts, Spanish, music and computer classes to the five Montessori areas. Its website's testimonials describe children reading and doing second-grade math by kindergarten. Creative Minds Montessori, at Legacy and Warren in West Frisco, is the narrower one: six weeks through kindergarten entry, mixed-age rooms with a Waldorf-inspired arts thread, organic milk and vegetables with no added sugar, no screens under two, all-day parent cameras, and infant teachers who have been here since the school opened. The two state records are the biggest difference on the page. Legacy's five-year history shows 48 deficiencies across 3,156 standards, the highest count of any school we have compared, most of them missing records and lapsed inspections, with 25 of them found in a single spring-2026 inspection and its follow-up, and five findings about how children were cared for; it has zero injuries and no penalties. Creative Minds shows 26 across 3,942, including findings about supervision and discipline that we describe below. Google rates Legacy 4.6 stars across 63 reviews and Creative Minds 4.7 across 44. If you want an academically ambitious Montessori with an after-school program and a bus for an older sibling, Legacy offers what we do not. If you want a small school with the same faces year after year, cameras you can watch from your desk, and a state record with its paperwork in order, that is what we are working to be.

Who is writing this, and how we tried to be fair. This guide is written by the teachers at Creative Minds Montessori, so we are one of the two schools being compared. We have kept to what each school publishes on its own website (checked September 22, 2026), the Texas Health and Human Services licensing records for both schools (read the same day), and public Google reviews. Where Legacy does something we do not, we say so plainly. Legacy's state record is long, and we have reported it by category and quoted it exactly rather than summarised it in our own adjectives; we have also not named any individual, from the record or from reviews, anywhere in this article. The classroom photographs on this page are of our own rooms, because the other school's photos are theirs to use, not ours. Verify anything that matters to you on a tour — at either school.

Two Montessori schools on one road

Legacy Montessori Academy sits at 10310 Legacy Drive, Frisco, TX 75033, on the west side of Legacy north of Main Street. Creative Minds Montessori is at 5115 Warren Parkway, behind Dua Trattoria at Legacy Drive and Warren Parkway, in West Frisco 75034. The two are about ten minutes apart along the same road, which makes this one of the few comparisons in our series where the commute probably does not decide it.

Both call themselves Montessori, and both mean it. Legacy's website describes a Primary classroom with "a large variety of activities within five areas: Practical Life, Sensorial, Language, Math and Cultural," children "free to choose an activity of interest to them," multi-age rooms of roughly two and a half to six, a "directress" who "has no desk," and "inner discipline" developed through the materials. We describe the same practices on our Curriculum page. So this is not a Montessori-versus-something-else comparison. It is a comparison of two schools that share a method and differ in age range, what is added to the day, how far the program runs, how each handles food, screens and cameras, and, above all, what the two state records show.

At a glance

 Legacy Montessori AcademyCreative Minds Montessori
Address10310 Legacy Dr, Frisco, TX 75033-6701 (Legacy Dr north of Main St)5115 Warren Parkway, Frisco, TX 75034-6289 (behind Dua Trattoria, Legacy Dr & Warren Pkwy)
Phone(214) 705-1714(972) 338-4304
Websitelmafrisco.com (loads over plain http; the secure https address failed to connect when we checked)creativemindsmontessori.com
Ownership and ageIndependent, owner-directed (the website's testimonials refer to the owner and director as one person); Texas HHS Full Permit since February 6, 2013Single independent school, open more than ten years at this location; Full Permit since April 21, 2016
LeadershipAn Administrator/Director is named on the Texas HHS record; we have not named individuals in this articleDirector; meet the team on our Our Team page
Hours7:00 AM – 6:00 PM (website and state record)7:00 AM – 5:30 PM, Mon–Fri (up to 10 hours of care; arrive by 9:00 AM)
Ages served"Now enrolling from 3 months" (website banner); Toddler (15 months–3 years), Primary (3–6), after-school for elementary children, summer session; state record lists infant through school-age6 weeks through kindergarten entry (Pre-K II / Transitional Kindergarten)
Texas state licenseLicensed Center – Child Care Program, Full Permit, no conditions; Texas HHS Operation No. 1491346Licensed Center – Child Care Program, Full Permit, no conditions; Texas HHS Operation No. 1597616 (listed as "Creative Minds"), Denton County
Accreditation / quality ratingNone stated on the website (the home page links to the American Montessori Society site but does not state a membership) or in the state open-data listing we pulledTexas Rising Star Entry Level (the base certification tier)
Licensed capacity183 children (state record)226 children (state record); classrooms kept small by design
Services on the state recordSchool-age care; after-school care; meals and snacks provided; transportation to and from school; does not accept subsidiesFull-day programs; field trips with parent volunteers; meals and snacks provided; part-time care; skill classes; no transportation; does not accept subsidies
Educational approachMontessori: five areas, child-chosen work, multi-age rooms, a directress who observes and guides; "smaller class size," "low student teacher ratio," "self guided discipline" (website)Montessori: prepared environment, self-chosen work, mixed-age rooms, five areas (practical life, sensorial, language, math, cultural) with a Waldorf-inspired arts, music, and nature thread
Included enrichmentYoga, fine arts, Spanish, music and computer classes are listed on the curriculum page; whether any carries a fee is not statedWeekly music class, daily process art, physical-training time, enrichment across arts, music, language, and movement
MealsMeals and snacks provided (state record); the website does not describe the menu, sourcing or an allergy policyBreakfast, lunch, and two snacks; lunch catered by KidzCaters on a four-week rotation; organic milk and organic vegetables, no added raw sugar, vegetarian option daily; nut-free
Classroom camerasNot mentioned on the website; a 2022 reviewer refers to video footage that was "conveniently missing" (unverified)Secure login to your child's room throughout the day; grandparents can get their own login; $25 per child per month
ScreensComputer is a curriculum subject: "each computer has educational games and children are encouraged to learn computer techniques by using computers regularly"No screen time under age two; at most one supplemental, education-aligned hour for older children, never at meals or rest
Beyond preschoolAfter-school program for elementary children (sports, games, arts and crafts, homework club, foreign languages club, computers, science club, free play) with transportation; summer session with camps, sports, arts, music, karate, outdoor education and academic enrichmentNot offered; the program ends at kindergarten entry
CommunicationNot described on the website beyond a Facebook page for closures and eventsDaily email with meals, naps, activities, and photos; parent-teacher conferences each November/December
Tuition transparencyRates and fees not on the site; enrollment is complete "when the Enrollment Agreement is signed and all applicable fees are received"Rates from the Director; $150 registration, $150 supply fee twice a year, sibling discount, $150 referral credit, $100/month welcome credit for 10 months
Google rating4.6 stars (63 reviews)4.7 stars (44 reviews) — see our Testimonials page

Sources: each school's website and Texas HHS record, September 22, 2026; Google ratings and review counts as of the same date. Details change — confirm on your tour.

What kind of school each one is

Legacy Montessori Academy: an academically ambitious Montessori that grew into its own building

Legacy Montessori Academy has held a Full Permit since February 6, 2013, which makes it three years older than we are, and its website's testimonials sketch the story of a small Montessori that moved into "a full fledged Legacy Montessori Academy" in a "new school building." The home page sets the tone: the school is "committed to helping each student develop a strong academic base, an inner love of learning and high self-esteem," and the list of "what sets Legacy Montessori Academy apart" begins with "smaller class size," "a child centered environment," "self guided discipline" and "low student teacher ratio." Below that sits the familiar roster of famous Montessori alumni.

The program runs wider than ours at both ends. The events banner says the school is "now enrolling from 3 months," and its state record confirms an infant license, though the programs page describes only Toddler, "15 months to 3 years," and Primary, "3 to 6 years." The toddler room "mirrors the home," and the "Toddler directress will prepare the child to enter the primary classroom by nurturing the child's curiosity and love of learning." Primary is described in good Montessori terms: "academics are introduced through the use of manipulative concrete materials which educate the child's senses and set the basis for the development of future abstract concepts," across "Practical Life, Sensorial, Language, Math and Cultural," with children "free to choose an activity of interest to them." The curriculum page walks through each area in detail, from dressing frames and the sand tray to "phonetic object boxes" and the "mathematically graded" sensorial materials, and then adds five subjects beyond the classic five: yoga, fine arts (clay, paint, collage, chalk), an introductory Spanish curriculum with "puppets, concrete materials and fun music activities," music in which children "learn to identify basic tones and to read music," and computer, where "each computer has educational games and children are encouraged to learn computer techniques by using computers regularly."

Then comes what we do not offer. Legacy "proudly offers a variety of after school programs for elementary children": sports, games, arts and crafts, a homework club, a foreign languages club, computers, a science club and free play, and its state record lists transportation to and from school, so a Frisco ISD second-grader can be collected and brought to the same building as a preschool sibling. The summer session "includes a range of fun and stimulating sessions in summer camps, sports, arts, music, karate, outdoor education, and academic enrichment," with full-day themed weeks. The state record also lists meals and snacks provided.

Admissions is an observation first: tours "can be scheduled Monday through Friday mornings between 8:30 and 10:30," then an application, then placement "based on space availability, the child's age and readiness," evaluated by "having your child visit one of our classrooms for a few hours." The website's testimonials are worth reading as a portrait of what the school is proud of: they are almost all about academics, with parents describing a child who "entered kindergarten reading at approximately a second grade level," "many kids doing 3-digit addition by kindergarten," and a six-year-old reading chapter books "almost without any help," alongside teachers who are "very soft spoken and very patient" and an owner-director described as "sweet and nurturing" and "flexible."

What the website does not tell you: tuition or fees, the menu, a nut or allergy policy, cameras, security, a discipline policy beyond the Montessori "inner discipline" philosophy, rest, illness, or who the teachers are and what training they hold. And the state record, which we take up below, is the longest we have written about.

Toddlers at Creative Minds Montessori counting beads on an abacus
Creative Minds Montessori: math begins with things you can hold. Concrete before abstract is the whole Montessori arc.

Creative Minds Montessori: one school, one philosophy, ten-plus years of the same faces

Creative Minds is a single independent school in the Legacy and Warren corridor that serves children from six weeks through kindergarten entry and then hands them on to Frisco ISD or a private elementary. Everything about it is built around the Montessori method. Walk in mid-morning and the first thing you notice is the quiet hum of concentration: one child building the pink tower, another tracing sandpaper letters, a third carrying a tray of golden beads to a mat. The guide is not at the front of the room; she is kneeling next to one child, presenting one lesson, and the rest of the room is working on things they chose. Rooms are mixed-age on purpose, so a three-year-old watches a five-year-old read and a five-year-old learns patience by helping a three-year-old pour.

Layered over that structure is what the school calls the Waldorf touch: a weekly music class, process art with natural materials, rhythm and storytelling, and a deliberate reverence for beauty and nature in the rooms. Montessori builds the disciplined, capable mind; the artistic thread keeps the imagination glowing. Our Curriculum page lays out the five Montessori areas and what each looks like at each age.

The people are the second thing. Both infant teachers have been with the school since it opened its doors more than ten years ago, which in an industry where caregivers often change every few months means the same two warm faces greet families at drop-off year after year. Ratios meet or exceed Texas Health and Human Services licensing for every age, with the youngest rooms kept smallest, and because the school is small, the Director personally approves every move from one room to the next.

The third thing is a set of daily-life choices that are easy to verify. Food is treated as curriculum: organic milk and organic vegetables, no added raw sugar, minimal salt and fat, a vegetarian option every day, fresh fruit and milk with every lunch, and a nut-free building. Children under two have no screen time at all, and older children never more than one supplemental, education-aligned hour, never at meals or rest. Every classroom has a camera, and parents can log in and watch any time during the day. Our Our School page covers the rest.

Curriculum and daily life, compared

Because both schools are Montessori, the table below has fewer sharp contrasts than a Montessori-versus-franchise comparison would. The differences are in the edges: what is added to the five areas, how far the program runs, and how each school handles food, screens and rest.

DimensionLegacy Montessori AcademyCreative Minds Montessori
Who directs the learningMontessori: "a child-directed form of learning where a child learns at their own pace"; the directress "is not the center of the classroom" and "has no desk"Montessori: child-chosen work from a prepared environment; the guide presents individual lessons and observes
Materials and areasPractical life (dressing frames, pouring, polishing), sensorial ("mathematically graded"), language (sandpaper letters, sand tray, metal insets, phonetic object boxes), math, cultural (sandpaper globes, puzzle maps, continent celebrations); plus yoga, fine arts, Spanish, music, computerThe Montessori materials (pink tower, sandpaper letters, movable alphabet, golden beads, number rods) across the same five areas, plus a Waldorf-inspired arts and music thread
Age groupingMulti-age, "usually between 2½ and 6 years" (FAQ)Mixed-age Montessori rooms (e.g., Casa 3–6); older children mentor younger
Teacher credentialsNot stated on the website beyond "directress"; the state cited missing training documentation for the director and one staff member in May and June 2026 and missing director CPR/first-aid documentation in June 2025, all later correctedCertified Montessori guides; the infant leads have been here since opening
Starting age3 months (website banner)6 weeks
InfantsNot described on the website; the state record licenses infantsNido: individual schedules, safe-sleep standards, daily email with meals, naps, activities and photos
Languages and enrichmentIntroductory Spanish, music with reading music, yoga, fine arts, computer; foreign-languages club and karate for older childrenWeekly music class, daily process art, physical-training time, arts, music, language, and movement
TechnologyRegular computer use is part of the curriculum, with educational gamesNone under two; capped at one supplemental hour for older children
Kindergarten and beyondKindergarten within the 3–6 Primary; after-school program for elementary children with transportation; summer sessionPre-K II / Transitional Kindergarten aligned with Frisco ISD; the program ends at kindergarten entry
RestNot addressed on the website; a 2021 reviewer describes a child "too old to nap" being "shuffled around from one classroom to the next" (unverified)Supervised rest after lunch for children 12 months and up (about two hours); at least an hour of rest, sleep never required, quiet work for non-nappers
Potty trainingNot addressed on the websiteCentral focus of the Transition class from about 2½; no punishment tied to toileting, ever
DisciplinePhilosophy only: "inner discipline," "freedom within limits"; no written policy on the site; one state finding on prohibited punishment in April 2022, described belowPositive guidance only; calm-down break capped at one minute per year of age; no punishment tied to food, naps, or toileting; no send-home policy for tantrums
Assessment and communication"Reading readiness is continuously assessed"; parent communication not otherwise describedObservation records; daily email; conferences each November/December; all-day cameras

A few honest notes. Legacy's bundle is larger than ours: Spanish, yoga and music inside the curriculum, a computer program, an after-school program with a homework club and a bus, and a summer session with karate, so a family with a preschooler and a second-grader can use one building for both. Its testimonials describe a school that pushes early academics hard and is proud of it; if you want a child reading chapter books before first grade, that is a legitimate reason to look. On our side, the differences are specific: we take babies from six weeks, we publish our discipline, rest, screen and illness policies, we keep computers out of the preschool day entirely, we put organic sourcing and a no-added-sugar rule on the menu, and we let you watch the room from anywhere.

Young children playing instruments in the weekly music class at Creative Minds Montessori
The weekly music class at Creative Minds: from birth to six is the most important window for musical development, so it is woven into the week, not bolted on.

Food, hours, and the shape of a day

Hours. Legacy wins the evening: 7:00 AM to 6:00 PM is half an hour more evening coverage than Creative Minds' 7:00 to 5:30. Creative Minds' full-day programs cap at ten hours of care, and the school asks for a 9:00 arrival so children get the uninterrupted work period that Montessori depends on. Legacy's calendar is published as a PDF on its site, and the school points families to its Facebook page for closures.

Food. Both state records say meals and snacks are provided. Legacy's website does not describe its menu, sourcing or allergy policy. Its state record contains one food finding: at the June 4, 2025 inspection, "it was observed that lunch served during today's inspection didn't meet the required meal patterns," and at the June 25 follow-up "the children were served a lunch that hit the required five components." An undated Google reviewer says the school presented itself as nut-free and served his two-and-a-half-year-old a cereal containing almonds; the website we read makes no nut-free claim, so ask directly what the policy is. Creative Minds does not cook on site; lunch is catered by KidzCaters on a four-week rotation, and the choices are in the sourcing: organic milk and organic vegetables, no added raw sugar, minimal salt and fat, a vegetarian option every day, fresh fruit and milk with every lunch, and a nut-free building. Our menu is on our Nutrition page.

Flexibility and transportation. Legacy offers after-school care with transportation to and from school and a summer session with full-day themed weeks. Creative Minds is a full-day preschool with no transportation. We do offer ways to protect a spot during extended breaks (half tuition for infants, a hold-spot fee for older children) and two $50-per-year vacation credits, but if you need a bus from a Frisco ISD elementary or a summer camp for a seven-year-old, Legacy is the one to ask.

Safety, security, and seeing your child's day

We describe our security practices on our website. Legacy's website does not, so the left column of this table leans on what the state's inspectors have written down when they walked through.

 Legacy Montessori AcademyCreative Minds Montessori
Getting in the doorNot described on the websiteDoors locked at all times; personal key fob per family; visitors ring the bell
Check-in / pick-upNot described on the website; the state found release-person information missing for three children in May 2026 and still missing for two on June 12, corrected by June 18Fingerprint sign-in kiosk that records date, time, and a photo; photo ID for anyone unfamiliar; release only to authorized adults
Cameras in roomsNot mentioned on the websiteVideo cameras in every classroom; secure family login throughout the day; grandparent logins available, $25 per child per month
Daily communicationNot described on the websiteDaily email with meals, naps, activities, and photos; parent-teacher conferences each November/December
Staff8, 7, 6, 2, 4 and 17 departures in 2025 back to 2020 (state record); the state cited the school four times in 2024 and 2025 for not reporting its departure count on timeCertified Montessori guides; positive-guidance discipline policy; volunteers require an 8-hour pre-certification and criminal-history check; 5, 7, 15, 18, 14 and 22 departures in the same years
Building inspections and insuranceThe state found the fire inspection not current in June 2023 (last one on file June 14, 2021) and again in May 2026; the gas inspection not on file in June 2023 and May 2026; no current sanitation inspection in May 2026 (conducted July 9, 2026); liability insurance expired or unvalidated in June 2023, July 2023, February 2024 and May 2026; all later correctedNot cited in five years
Emergency drillsJune 2025: no current documentation of drills, and "the Director was then observed writing in dates on the incomplete form for this calendar year" (rated high); documentation reviewed compliant June 25Not cited in five years
IllnessNot described on the websiteFever 100.4°F+ stays home until fever-free 24 hours unmedicated; vomiting/diarrhea 24 symptom-free hours; group notified of communicable illness
Infant safe sleepNot described on the website; no safe-sleep finding on the state record; director training on SIDS, shaken baby and brain development was cited as not current in June 2025 and completed by June 25Texas licensing, AAP and CPSC standards: on the back, own CPSC-compliant crib, firm mattress, tight sheet; two safe-sleep findings in June 2023, described below
Visibility insideObservation tours weekday mornings 8:30–10:30 by appointment; a placement visit for the childParents may visit in person any time during operating hours, no appointment

What the state's five-year records show, side by side

The Texas Health and Human Services Commission publishes every licensed center's five-year compliance history in its public Child Care Search. We read both schools' pages on September 22, 2026 and put them in one table. Read ours as critically as theirs; the links go to the primary source.

Five-year state recordLegacy Montessori Academy (state page)Creative Minds Montessori (state page)
PermitFull Permit since February 6, 2013; no conditionsFull Permit since April 21, 2016; no conditions
Serious injuries / injuries from standard violations0 / 00 / 0
Employees who left employment, by year2025: 8 · 2024: 7 · 2023: 6 · 2022: 2 · 2021: 4 · 2020: 172025: 5 · 2024: 7 · 2023: 15 · 2022: 18 · 2021: 14 · 2020: 22
Activity, last 60 months18 inspections · 7 assessments · 0 self-reported incidents · 6 reports (investigations)14 inspections · 3 self-reported incidents (filed by us) · 4 reports (investigations)
Deficiencies found / standards evaluated48 / 3,156 (7 high, 12 medium-high, 21 medium, 8 medium-low)26 / 3,942 (7 high, 12 medium-high, 6 medium, 1 medium-low)
Most recent full inspectionMay 19, 2026: 569 of 586 standards compliant; 17 deficiencies. Follow-up June 12, 2026: 8 of 13 still deficient, re-cited. Latest activity August 14, 2026: an assessment citing delinquent franchise tax, placed in compliance August 24. The June 6, 2024 inspection, by contrast, found 735 of 735 compliantMay 12, 2026: 657 of 660 compliant; 3 deficiencies. Latest visit July 21, 2026: 1 of 1, none
Administrative penalties00
Corrective or adverse actionNo / NoNo / No
Licensed capacity183226

Forty-eight is a large number, and the fairest way to read it is by category and by date, because most of it is one kind of problem and half of it happened in one spring. Here is the whole record, grouped, with the state's own words.

Records missing from children's and staff files, and missing written policies (22 findings). Twenty-one of these come from the May 19, 2026 inspection and its June 12 follow-up, where the inspector listed what was not in the files: emergency-contact addresses for four children and emergency contacts for two more; release-person information for three children (rated high); an emergency medical authorization that "needs to be redone due to water damage on form" (rated high); a health statement for one child; an immunization form for one child; training documentation for the director and one staff member; a photo ID, two affidavits, and signed receipts of operational and personnel policies for a new staff member; and two policies missing from the parent handbook, on parent rights and on "supporting inclusive services." On June 12, eight of those were "still needed" and were re-cited; on August 14 the state "granted an extension to contact parents to provide the needed information," and the last of them was placed in compliance August 24, 2026. The twenty-second is from June 2023: "out of 10 files reviewed, one child was missing the immunization records."

Lapsed or missing third-party inspections, insurance and certifications (11 findings). In June 2023 the fire inspection was not current ("the last inspection available for review was 6/14/21"), the gas inspection was not on file ("gas is still in the building and could have a potential leak"), liability insurance "was observe to be expired on 11/23/22," and the children's-products certification had "expired on 9/18/2020"; the insurance and product certification were re-cited in July 2023 and cleared that month. In February 2024 the insurance was cited again: "the provider has not validated the Liability Insurance that was due by 08/07/2023," cleared five days later. In May 2026 the fire inspection, gas inspection report, sanitation inspection ("the operation needs a current health inspection to be conducted"; one was done July 9, 2026) and proof of liability insurance were all cited again and cleared between June 12 and August 20.

Reporting to the state (5 findings). The school was cited on January 17, February 5 and February 16, 2024 for not reporting how many employees left in 2023, and on January 17, 2025 for the 2024 count. And on August 14, 2026 an assessment found, at high risk, that "the operation hasn't provided proof of reinstated franchise tax within the required 15-day timeframe," which the state notes is "being placed in compliance" as of August 24. That last one is a business-standing matter rather than a classroom one, but it is on the record and we would ask about it.

Director training and drill documentation (5 findings). All from June 4, 2025: the director's training on "SIDS, shaken baby and brain development" and on "handling, storing and disposal of hazardous materials, administering medication, food allergy, and emergency preparedness and transportation" was not current; "the director doesn't have documentation of current CPR and First Aid"; "there was no current documentation of recently practiced drills"; and, rated high under the director's duty to operate in compliance, "safety drill documentation was reviewed to have only safety drills documented from 2024 only. The Director was then observed writing in dates on the incomplete form for this calendar year." All five were verified compliant on June 25, 2025.

How children were cared for (5 findings). These are the ones to ask about. On April 20, 2022, an investigation found a high-risk violation of the rule against "Placing Child in Locked or Dark Room": "the caregiver admittedly stated that she asked the child to have time out inside the bathroom out of concern for other childrens safety and the way the child was behaving towards them"; the standard was verified compliant on May 25, 2022. On August 8, 2022, an investigation found the school had not reported to the state a child injury that required medical treatment, after a parent had said the child was going to the doctor. On February 9, 2023, an investigation "determined that a caregiver used her personal electronic device while conducting a diaper change." On June 4, 2025, "a caregiver was observed vacuuming the classroom while supervising children," and lunch that day "didn't meet the required meal patterns." Each was verified corrected at a follow-up.

What that adds up to. Over five years the state has recorded no injuries, no penalties and no enforcement action at Legacy, and the June 2024 inspection was spotless. But 43 of the 48 findings are about paperwork, inspections and reporting, and the same items recur: liability insurance four times, fire and gas inspections twice each, the employee count four times, file contents in 2023 and again in 2026. A school can be warm and academically strong and still be poorly administered, and the pattern here is of an office that catches up when the state arrives rather than one that stays ahead of it. The five care findings are spread across four years and none was repeated. The April 2022 time-out-in-the-bathroom finding is the most serious, and it happens to match the subject of the school's oldest critical Google review; the state closed it within five weeks. Ask what the discipline policy is today, in writing.

Our own record is the one we want you to read hardest. Twenty-six deficiencies across 3,942 standards is fewer than Legacy's, and most of them are paperwork we should have had in order and many of which we reported ourselves. Each finding was verified corrected by the state. The three self-reported incidents on our record are incidents we reported to the state ourselves, because we would rather have a mark on the page than a secret in the building. Zero injuries in five years and 5 and 7 staff departures in the last two years are the numbers we are proudest of. The details are on our state page linked above, and we would rather you read them there than take our summary.

A calm Creative Minds Montessori classroom with natural materials and soft colors
What "calm" looks like: low shelves, one of each material, soft colors, and children who chose the work in front of them.

Cost and fees: what each school publishes

Neither school prints monthly tuition on its website, which is normal in Frisco and frustrating for a shopping parent. Here is exactly what each does say, so you know what to ask.

Legacy Montessori Academy publishes no rates, fees, deposits or refund terms. Its admissions page says a child "is officially enrolled when the Enrollment Agreement is signed and all applicable fees are received," which is the document to read closely. One 2021 reviewer writes, "We were charged 'fees' for items we would be getting, but we never received"; we cannot verify it, but it is a fair prompt to ask exactly what each fee buys and when. Its testimonials mention teachers who "were also flexible with the drop-off and pick-up times whenever necessary," which is a genuine convenience if it still holds.

Creative Minds Montessori bills monthly by age. Published fees: a one-time $150 registration fee per child, a $150 supply fee twice a year (March and September), and a $25-per-child monthly camera fee. Published credits: a sibling discount, $150 off tuition for each referred family who stays 90 days, and a current new-family welcome of $100 off tuition for the first ten months. Meals, snacks, the music class and all materials are included. Monthly rates by age come from the Director, and we will give you a written all-in number on the tour. Details are on our Admissions page.

Two practical tips. First, ask both schools for a written, all-in annual number for your child's age, including every fee, transportation and after-school if you need them, and summer weeks. Second, ask what happens to your spot and your money during a two-week vacation, a maternity leave, or a job change; the answers differ more between schools than the headline rate does. Our guide to what childcare really costs covers FSAs and the child-care tax credit, which apply at both schools.

What parents say

Legacy Montessori Academy

Start with the number: Legacy Montessori Academy holds a 4.6-star rating across 63 Google reviews as of September 22, 2026, a score close to ours on a larger count, accumulated over more than a decade, and it should frame everything below. Its own website carries some twenty parent testimonials, nearly all about academic results and a caring, flexible owner-director, and a rating like 4.6 means most families who wrote on Google wrote something similar. We collected the critical reviews from the listing and did not copy the positive ones, so this section is the critical slice, not the whole picture, and you should read the listing yourself before you weigh it. The school had not posted public replies to the reviews below as of that date. Individual reviews are unverified parent opinion, and we have not named anyone they mention.

Of 63 reviews, we counted three critical ones, posted between about 2021 and 2022, with one undated, all from families who enrolled. They do not repeat one theme so much as describe three different ones:

  • Discipline and the response to it. A parent whose son attended from eighteen months to four writes, around 2022, that he "was placed in a dark, closed bathroom as a means of punishment from a teacher," that "the video footage was conveniently missing," that the teacher "did not receive any sort of consequence," and that she "was treated with the upmost disrespect" by the teacher and the principal when she raised it; she adds that "several parents have similar complaints." We cannot verify her account. What we can say is that the state's record for April 20, 2022 contains a high-risk finding under the same rule, "Placing Child in Locked or Dark Room," in which "the caregiver admittedly stated that she asked the child to have time out inside the bathroom," verified corrected on May 25, 2022. The review and the finding describe the same kind of event in the same year; the state's page does not say whether they are the same event.
  • Availability, continuity and what the fees bought. A parent of a four-and-a-half-year-old, around 2021, writes that "the director is never available for any questions or calls," that a teacher said to her daughter, "oh my god, you don't even know how to do that," that promised one-on-one time at lunch "never happened," that her daughter "was just shuffled around from one classroom to the next," that the next teacher "constantly had a substitute," that "there was no interaction with the parents to let them know how their child is doing," and that fees were charged for items never received. Her conclusion: "more like a low grade daycare, focused on making money, rather then a true montessori."
  • Allergies. An undated reviewer says the school "advertise themselves as a nut-free institution" but served his two-and-a-half-year-old a cereal whose label lists almonds, and that when he called, the director "admitted" it but said "we gave this to all of the kids and the kids are okay," and in person said she did not know it contained nuts. The website we read does not make a nut-free claim, so the first thing to settle on a tour is what the policy actually is.

What cuts the other way, and we would be dishonest to leave it out: three critical reviews out of 63 is a small share, and the positive ones, on Google and on the school's own site, are consistent and specific about academic results, patient teachers and a nurturing owner; the state has never recorded an injury at Legacy, never penalised it, and found nothing at all in a 735-standard inspection in June 2024; and staff departures of two, four, six, seven and eight a year since 2021 are moderate for a school of this size. So the reviews mean something specific. They do not describe a school where children are routinely unsafe; the state's numbers do not support that reading. They describe, in three families' words, a 2022 discipline incident that the state also recorded, a 2021 experience of a director who could not be reached and a child moved between rooms, and an allergy mistake handled defensively. The state record adds the thing the reviews do not mention: an office that has let inspections, insurance and files lapse repeatedly. Together they point the tour at the same three questions: what is the written discipline policy, who will be in my child's room and for how long, and who answers the phone when something goes wrong.

Creative Minds Montessori

Creative Minds Montessori holds a 4.7-star rating across 44 Google reviews. It is a smaller count; the score is what we are proud of, and so is the state's record of 5 and 7 staff departures in the last two years, because the reviews are mostly about people who are still here. The Google reviews quoted on our Testimonials page cluster around the infant teachers who have been here since the school opened, the calm of the classrooms, the food, the cameras, and children who come home and set the table without being asked. We are not going to pretend we have no critical reviews; read all 44 on Google and ask us about any of them on the tour. We would rather answer than spin.

One thing we say to every family who tours us after touring another Montessori school: the word on the sign is the beginning of the comparison, not the end of it. Two rooms with the same pink tower can feel completely different depending on who is in them and how long they have been there. Watch the adults.

Which school fits which family

Legacy Montessori Academy is probably the better fit if…

  • You have a preschooler and an elementary-age child and want one building, a homework club, and a vehicle that brings the older one from school.
  • You need care until 6:00 PM and a summer session with karate, sports and academic enrichment for a school-age child.
  • Early academic acceleration is your priority: the school's own testimonials describe kindergarteners reading at a second-grade level and doing three-digit addition, and that is the culture it advertises.
  • Spanish, yoga, music with note-reading and a computer curriculum inside the preschool day matter to you.
  • You live north of Main Street on the Legacy corridor and a ten-minute drive south is one too many.
  • You are comfortable reading a long state record for what it is, mostly administrative, and asking the school directly what has changed in the office since spring 2026.

Creative Minds Montessori is probably the better fit if…

  • You have a baby under three months, or you want your infant with the same two caregivers year after year in small rooms where the Director personally approves each move up.
  • You want to watch your child's room from your phone at any point in the day, and to be able to walk in unannounced.
  • You want no computers or screens in the preschool day for your child under two, and very little after that, as policy rather than as a favor.
  • Organic milk and vegetables and no added sugar matter to you enough to see them on the menu, and you want a nut-free building stated in writing.
  • You want a positive-guidance discipline policy with published limits, and a child who "can't do it" met with a lesson rather than a label.
  • A school whose insurance, inspections and files are in order when the state arrives is a proxy you trust for how the rest of the building is run.
  • You live or work in West Frisco, and you are fine with a 7:00–5:30 day and with changing schools at kindergarten.

And a third possibility that is more common than either school likes to admit: some children are simply happier in one room than another, and you will know within ten minutes of watching them in it. Bring your child to both tours if you possibly can. Legacy builds a classroom visit into its placement process for exactly this reason; ask us for the same.

Ten questions to ask on both tours

These are the questions that separate a good tour from a brochure read aloud. Ask every one of them at both schools, in the same words, and compare the answers side by side.

  1. "What is the exact ratio and group size in the room my child would start in, today?" Not the licensing maximum, the actual number this month. Legacy advertises "low student teacher ratio"; ask for the number.
  2. "How long have the teachers in that room been here, and what Montessori training do they hold?" Tenure is the single best predictor of how your child's day will feel. Make both schools tell it room by room.
  3. "What is your written discipline policy, and what happens when a child hurts another child?" Ask Legacy specifically about time-outs and where they happen. We explain why the answer matters in our guide to choosing a whole-child program.
  4. "Can I see my child's room during the day, and how?" Cameras, an app, a window, or an open door. Get the specifics, the cost, and how long footage is kept.
  5. "What did the children eat yesterday, who provided it, and is the building nut-free?" Then ask to see the menu for next week and the allergy policy.
  6. "How much screen time will my child have, and what is it for?" Legacy has a computer curriculum; ask at what age it starts and for how many minutes.
  7. "What is my all-in annual cost for this age, including every fee, and what exactly does each fee buy?" Read the enrollment agreement before you pay.
  8. "Are your fire, gas and health inspections and your liability insurance current today, and may I see them?" An unusual question, but Legacy's record makes it a fair one, and any well-run school can answer it in thirty seconds.
  9. "When a parent raises a concern, what happens in the next 48 hours, and what did you report to the state last year?" Ask for a real example. Compare the answer with the school's state page.
  10. "May I come back on a normal morning?" The answer, and the tone of the answer, tells you nearly everything.

For the longer version of this checklist, including the unannounced-visit test and the difference between settling-in tears and real red flags, see How to Choose a Daycare You Actually Trust.

A child watering plants in the garden at Creative Minds Montessori
Practical life at Creative Minds: real tools, real plants, real responsibility. The Waldorf-inspired reverence for nature shows up in small daily jobs.

The bottom line

Legacy Montessori Academy is a long-established, owner-run Montessori on Legacy Drive with the wider program in this comparison: infants through school-age, a five-area Montessori Primary with Spanish, yoga, music and computers added, an after-school program with a bus and a homework club, a summer session, hours to 6:00, a 4.6-star Google rating across 63 reviews, and testimonials full of early readers. Its state record is the longest we have written about: 48 findings in five years, 43 of them about files, inspections, insurance and reporting that lapsed and were caught up, and five about how children were cared for, including a 2022 time-out in a bathroom that the state rated high and closed within five weeks. Zero injuries, no penalties. Its three critical reviews describe that 2022 incident, an unreachable director and a child moved between rooms in 2021, and an allergy mistake.

Creative Minds Montessori is a smaller, narrower offer: one philosophy carried out from six weeks to kindergarten entry by adults who have been here for years, with a food and screen policy you can see on the plate, positive guidance with published limits, cameras you can watch all day, published fees, paperwork in order, and a state record with fewer findings than Legacy's but heavier ones, including supervision and discipline findings that we describe above rather than hide. It cannot keep your child until 6:00, collect them from school, teach them on a computer, or give a seven-year-old somewhere to be in July.

Those are different products, and a family can be right to choose either. The wrong choice is the one made from a website, including this one. Tour both. Bring the questions above. Watch the children more than the adults, and then watch the adults. And if you would like to start with us, book a 40-minute weekday tour at Creative Minds, call (972) 338-4304, or email director@creativemindsfrisco.com. Legacy Montessori Academy schedules observation tours on weekday mornings at (214) 705-1714.

Quick answers

How far apart are the two schools?

About ten minutes, along the same road. Legacy Montessori Academy is at 10310 Legacy Drive north of Main Street (75033); Creative Minds is at 5115 Warren Parkway in West Frisco (75034), behind Dua Trattoria at Legacy and Warren.

Are both schools really Montessori?

Yes. Legacy describes the five Montessori areas, child-chosen work, multi-age rooms of about two and a half to six, and a directress who observes and guides, with yoga, fine arts, Spanish, music and computer classes added; Creative Minds has certified Montessori guides, mixed-age rooms and the classic materials across the five areas, with a Waldorf-inspired arts and music thread.

Which has longer hours and serves older children?

Legacy: 7:00 AM to 6:00 PM, from three months per its website through an after-school program for elementary children with transportation to and from school, plus a summer session. Creative Minds: 7:00 AM to 5:30 PM, 6 weeks through kindergarten entry, no transportation.

Is Legacy Montessori Academy a licensed center?

Yes. Texas HHS lists Legacy Montessori Academy as a Licensed Center – Child Care Program with a Full Permit since February 6, 2013, Operation No. 1491346, licensed capacity 183, hours 7:00 AM to 6:00 PM, serving infants through school-age, with school-age care, after-school care, meals and snacks provided, and transportation to and from school.

What do the Texas licensing records show for each school?

Over five years, both have zero injuries, zero penalties, and no corrective or adverse action. Legacy shows 48 deficiencies across 3,156 standards: 22 about records missing from children's and staff files and policies (21 of them from May and June 2026), 11 about lapsed fire, gas and sanitation inspections, liability insurance and product certification, 5 about reporting to the state including a delinquent franchise tax in August 2026, 5 about director training and drill records in June 2025, and 5 about care (a time-out in a bathroom in April 2022, an unreported injury in August 2022, a phone used during a diaper change in February 2023, and vacuuming while supervising and a lunch that missed the meal pattern in June 2025); staff departures were 8 and 7 in 2025 and 2024. Creative Minds shows 26 deficiencies across 3,942 standards, including three supervision findings (2022, 2023 and a self-reported one in June 2026), all verified corrected, plus 3 self-reported incidents, zero injuries in the same years.

Does either publish tuition?

No. Legacy publishes no rates or fees; enrollment is complete when the agreement is signed and fees are paid. Creative Minds publishes its fees ($150 registration, $150 supply fee twice a year, $25 monthly camera fee) and credits (sibling discount, $150 referral, $100-a-month welcome credit for ten months); monthly rates come from the Director.

What do the critical Google reviews of Legacy Montessori Academy say?

Legacy holds a 4.6-star rating across 63 Google reviews as of September 22, 2026. We collected three critical reviews, posted around 2021 and 2022 with one undated. One describes a child placed in a dark bathroom as punishment in 2022 and a dismissive response; the state's record shows a high-risk finding on the same rule that April, closed in May. One describes an unavailable director, a child moved between rooms with substitutes, and fees for items never received. One describes a nut-allergy mistake and a defensive response. The school had not replied publicly as of that date.

Do both have parent cameras?

Creative Minds has cameras in every room with all-day secure viewing for $25 per child per month and grandparent logins. Legacy's website does not mention cameras. Ask on the tour.

Keep reading

About this comparison: written by the teachers of Creative Minds Montessori, Frisco, TX, in September 2026. Facts about Legacy Montessori Academy come from its public website, lmafrisco.com (home, programs, curriculum, admission, FAQ, resources, testimonial and contact pages, read September 22, 2026 over plain http because the secure address did not connect), from its Texas HHS Child Care Search record (permit, capacity, programs, hours, and the full five-year inspection and compliance history, read the same day), and from public Google reviews as of the same date; review counts, ratings, and policies change. We have deliberately not named any individual mentioned in reviews or on the state record. Facts about Creative Minds come from our own website and our Texas HHS record. Quotations from reviews and from the state record are reproduced as posted; individual reviews are the opinions of their authors and are unverified, and the state's findings are the state's, not ours. If you are the owner or director of Legacy Montessori Academy and find an error, or want to add context to anything here, email director@creativemindsfrisco.com and we will correct or add it promptly and note the change. Nothing here is a substitute for your own tour of both schools. Our legal disclaimer applies.

← Back to Parent Resources